Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Abby, Tried and True

When Abby Braverman’s best friend, Cat, moves to Israel, she’s sure it’s the worst thing that could happen. But then her older brother, Paul, is diagnosed with cancer, and life upends again. Mom Rachel and Mama Dee provide support for both kids, but they're all worried about how things will go. So it’s up to Abby to find a way to navigate seventh grade without her best friend (and with social anxiety), help keep her brother’s spirits up during difficult treatments, and figure out her surprising new feelings for the boy next door. In the process she discovers that she's got strength she never expected — even if she doesn't feel brave all the time.

Fans of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise and Shouting at the Rain will love this heartwarming story of the bond between siblings from the award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin and The Paris Project.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $14.47
  • Lowest
    $14.47
Prices as of 03/04/21 18:28
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"[Abby] suffers from social anxiety at school and finds it difficult to make new friends; however, when a cute boy moves into Cat’s old house next door, Abby finds herself making tentative steps toward a new friendship with him. The whole family pulls together to support Paul through surgery and chemotherapy, which is hard on all of them. With each new challenge Abby surmounts, she learns that being anxious and sensitive doesn’t mean that she can’t also be other things: a supportive sister, a good friend, and a brave person too." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Donna Gephart
ISBN 1534440895
Publication Date Mar 9, 2021
Publisher Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Language English