Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Ablaze with Color: A Story of Painter Alma Thomas

Celebrate the life-changing power of art in this inspiring and stunningly illustrated picture book biography of American artist Alma Thomas. As a child in Georgia, Alma Thomas loved to spend time outside, soaking up the colors around her. And her parents filled their home with color and creativity despite the racial injustices they faced. After the family moved to Washington DC, Alma shared her passion for art by teaching children. When she was almost seventy years old, she focused on her own artwork, inspired by nature and space travel.

In this celebration of art and the power of imagination, Jeanne Walker Harvey and Loveis Wise tell the incredible true story of the first Black woman to have a solo exhibition at the Whitney Museum in New York City and to have her work chosen for the White House collection. With her bold and vibrant abstract paintings, Alma set the world ablaze with color. With extensive backmatter including photos, an author’s and illustrator’s note, a timeline, and a list of sources and resources, and an inspiring message about following your passion, this book is perfect for fans of Malala's Magic Pencil and Mae Among the Stars.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $12.99
  • Lowest
    $12.99
Prices as of 03/02/24 12:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$24.99
  • Lowest
    C$24.99
Prices as of 03/02/24 10:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Lowest
    £14.36
Prices as of 03/02/24 08:36
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$34.99
  • Lowest
    A$34.99
Prices as of 03/01/24 14:43
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"The text achieves a fine balance of evocative lyricism and straightforward exposition. Wise’s vibrant, eye-catching illustrations contain echoes of Thomas’ signature abstract style, with its colorful mosaiclike patterns and tessellated brush strokes.... Uplifting with hope and ablaze with joyous colors!" — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 5 - 9
Author Jeanne Walker Harvey
Illustrator Loveis Wise
ISBN 0063021897
Publication Date Feb 22, 2022
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English