Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Alias Anna: A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis

She wouldn’t be Zhanna. She’d use an alias. A for Anna. A for alive.

When the Germans invade Ukraine, Zhanna, a young Jewish girl, must leave behind her friends, her freedom, and her promising musical future at the world’s top conservatory. With no time to say goodbye, Zhanna, her sister Frina, and their entire family are removed from their home by the Nazis and forced on a long, cold, death march. When a guard turns a blind eye, Zhanna flees with nothing more than her musical talent, her beloved sheet music, and her father’s final plea: “I don’t care what you do. Just live.”

This novel in verse is the moving true story of how young Ukrainian Jewish piano prodigies Zhanna (alias “Anna”) and her sister Frina outplayed their pursuers while hiding in plain sight during the Holocaust, written by award-winning author Susan Hood with Greg Dawson, Zhanna’s son. This incredible book explores sisterhood, survival, and music, perfect for fans of Lifeboat 12 and Inside Out and Back Again.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $16.92
  • Lowest
    $11.61
Prices as of 07/06/22 15:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$20.79
  • Lowest
    C$19.49
Prices as of 07/06/22 11:38
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £10.78
  • Lowest
    £9.43
Prices as of 07/06/22 09:36
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$29.74
  • Lowest
    A$29.74
Prices as of 07/06/22 11:43
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Susan Hood, Greg Dawson
ISBN 0063083892
Publication Date Mar 22, 2022
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English