Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

It All Begins with Jelly Beans

Meg spends her days hoping no one thinks too hard about why she wears the same t-shirt and slippers to school every day. Luckily, the nurse’s office provides a welcome escape from classmates who don’t understand… and snacks when food runs out at home.

Riley knows fitting in at her new school would be a lot easier if her friends were more understanding of her type 1 diabetes. So she keeps her testing under wraps…and an emergency bag of jelly beans on hand.

When Meg and Riley end up together in the nurse’s office one day, both girls think they’ve worked each other out, but what if they’ve got it all wrong? On the brink of moving on to junior high, Riley and Meg must find the courage to discover who they really want to be. And maybe a bag of shared jelly beans will provide all the help they need. This heartfelt middle grade novel is perfect for fans of Save Me a Seat and Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $7.99
  • Lowest
    $6.84
Prices as of 05/28/24 01:34
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$9.94
  • Lowest
    C$9.94
Prices as of 05/27/24 23:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £11.01
  • Lowest
    £11.01
Prices as of 05/27/24 09:35
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$17.98
  • Lowest
    A$17.98
Prices as of 05/28/24 02:42
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Though their paths continue to cross, the girls are slow to warm to one another. But if they can get past their preconceived notions, maybe they’ll find they have more in common than the emergency jelly beans Riley shares with Meg. Told in alternating first-person chapters, this narrative sensitively portrays a young person learning to manage a chronic health condition as well as the struggles of a tween forced by a parent’s mental health issues to grow up too quickly. The author also seamlessly weaves in typical school dramas rather than solely making this about Meg’s and Riley’s challenges.... An emotionally honest portrayal that is empowering to those seen as different." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 8 - 12
Author Nova Weetman
ISBN 1534494316
Publication Date Jun 8, 2021
Publisher Margaret K. McElderry Books
Language English