Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

By the Book

Mary Porter-Malcolm is obsessed with nineteenth-century literature and has prepared for high school in the one way she knows how: culling advice on life and love from her favorite classic heroines to help navigate the friendships, romantic liaisons, and overall drama she has come to expect from such an “esteemed” institution. When some new friends seem in danger of falling for the same tricks employed since the days of Austen and Tolstoy, Mary swoops in to create the Scoundrel Survival Guide, using archetypes of literature’s debonair bad boys to signal red flags.

But despite her best efforts, she soon finds herself unable to listen to her own good advice and falling for a supposed cad — the same one she warned her friends away from. Without a convenient rain-swept moor to flee to, Mary is forced to admit that real life doesn’t follow the same rules as fiction and that if she wants a happy ending, she’s going to have to write it herself. This clever YA rom-com debut, perfect for fans of Kasie West and Ashley Poston, is a celebration of nineteenth-century literature... and a reminder that life isn't always like fiction.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $14.93
  • Lowest
    $11.19
Prices as of 07/11/20 10:28
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Mary’s diary entries pepper the narrative and provide some tongue-in-cheek humor. Debut author Sellet delightfully portrays Mary’s large, chaotic family — her twin sisters’ Shakespeare troupe; her stoic, athletic sister; and her annoying younger brother.... A sweet story with a focus on family and friendships." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 13 and up
Author Amanda Sellet
ISBN 0358156610
Publication Date May 12, 2020
Publisher HMH Books for Young Readers
Language English