Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Extraordinary Birds

Amazon.com Rating:

December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will soar away. It will not matter that she has no permanent home. Her destiny is in the sky.

But then she's placed with foster mom Eleanor, a kind woman who volunteers at an animal rescue and has secrets of her own. December begins to see that her story could end a different way — but could she ever be happy down on the ground?

In her arresting debut, Sandy Stark-McGinnis offers an inspiring story about family, friendship, and finding where you belong, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $8.49
  • Lowest
    $4.45
Prices as of 12/16/19 06:56
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Eleven-year-old December not only knows everything about birds, she's convinced she is one. As December, whose mother left her as a young child, moves between a series of foster homes, she's waiting for the moment when her 'wings will finally unfold' and she is strong enough to take flight.... Throughout it all, December holds on tight to the one gift she has from her mother, a book called The Complete Guide to Birds Vol. 1, but painful memories of her mother slowly emerge, allowing December to embrace her rich new life. A heartbreaking and hopeful story about a young girl who learns the power of kindness and the beauty of belonging." — Shelley Sommer, School Library Journal

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Sandy Stark-Mcginnis
ISBN 1547601000
Publication Date Apr 30, 2019
Publisher Bloomsbury Children's Books
Language English