Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Finding François: A Story about the Healing Power of Friendship

Alice, a little piglet, loves life with her grandmother, making lists and crème brûlée, organizing buttons, and taking walks. Still, Alice wishes she had a sister — or even a brother. So, she does the sensible thing: She writes a note ("Hello! I am Alice."), tucks it into a bottle, and tosses it into the river, where it drifts out to sea, is captured by an octopus, picked up by a seagull, and arrives at a faraway lighthouse.

There, François, a little dog, lives with his dad. François is everything Alice could wish for in a friend, and soon the seas are busy with their bottled correspondence. But when a big change comes, and Alice can't bring herself to write François more letters, will the simple comforts of time, love, and friendship restore the light to Alice's life?

From award-winning author and artist Gus Gordon comes a tender and gently adventurous gem about the power of friends to soothe aches big and small, perfect for fans of A Sick Day for Amos McGee and In a Jar.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $14.84
  • Lowest
    $13.30
Prices as of 05/16/21 02:32
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"When the protagonist’s grandmother dies and the little pig goes to live with kindly Miss Clément (an antelope), readers will witness Alice’s withdrawal and grief (and François’ confusion at the silence), until 'the dark clouds slowly packed up their things and shuffled into the distance, and the sun sprung forth.' A lighthouse visit and the resumption of baking show it is possible to accommodate loss into living. Elegant language, endearing characters, and irresistible images will warm hearts and minds with each reading." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 4 - 8
Author Gus Gordon
Illustrator Gus Gordon
ISBN 0525554009
Publication Date Jul 7, 2020
Publisher Dial Books
Language English