Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Growing Pangs

Katie's always felt different. She's homeschooled, she has freckles, and her teeth are really crooked. But none of these things matter to Kacey. They’re best friends forever — just like their necklaces say. But when they go to summer camp, Kacey starts acting weird. Then she makes a new, cool friend, and starts leaving Katie behind. What happened to the “forever”?

And when Katie gets home, she can’t stop worrying. About getting braces. About 6th grade. About friends. She knows tapping three times or opening and closing a drawer won’t make everything better... but sometimes it helps stop the worrying. Is something wrong with her? Told over the course of a year of change, stresses, and self-discovery, this irresistibly relatable graphic novel about friendship and growing up is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts and Shannon Hale's Friends Series.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $9.75
  • Lowest
    $5.25
Prices as of 05/28/24 21:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$17.05
  • Lowest
    C$17.05
Prices as of 05/28/24 21:39
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Lowest
    £16.22
Prices as of 05/28/24 08:37
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$29.99
  • Lowest
    A$29.99
Prices as of 05/27/24 23:43
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"The graphic novel unfolds over the course of a year, and the representation is informed by the author’s and illustrator’s own childhood journeys of coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder. OCD is explored in accurate detail throughout Katie’s arc, and the illustrations enhance the depiction, with bees flying around her head whose buzzing increases and decreases in intensity to match the franticness of her thoughts.... A poignant account of journeying through life while navigating mental health and friendships." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Kathryn Ormsbee
Illustrator Molly Brooks
ISBN 0593301315
Publication Date May 3, 2022
Publisher Random House Graphic
Language English