Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Into the Tall, Tall Grass

Yolanda Rodríguez-O’Connell has a secret. All the members of her family have a magical gift — all, that is, except for Yolanda. Still, it’s something she can never talk about, or the townsfolk will call her family brujas: witches. When her grandmother, Wela, falls into an unexplained sleep, Yolanda is scared. Her father is off fighting in a faraway war, her mother died long ago, and Yolanda has isolated herself from her best friend and twin sister. If she loses her grandmother, who will she have left?

When a strange grass emerges in the desert behind their house, Wela miraculously wakes, begging Yolanda to take her to the lone pecan tree left on their land. Determined not to lose her, Yolanda sets out on this journey with her sister, her ex-best friend, and a boy who has a crush on her. Along the way, Yolanda discovers long-buried secrets that have made their family gift a family curse. But she also finds the healing power of the magic all around her, which just might promise a new beginning. This captivating and magical debut is perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $13.49
  • Lowest
    $8.80
Prices as of 05/16/21 05:28
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Yolanda’s grandmother, called Wela, is dying, which will leave Yolanda and her twin sister, Sonja, without a guardian, as their widower father is deployed in Afghanistan. Between those losses, the death of her beloved grandfather, and the betrayal of her best friend, Ghita, who replaced Yolanda with Sonja, Yolanda feels utterly alone.... As Wela uses her remaining strength to tell the children the story of her family and their strange gifts, Yolanda finds her own confidence. This heartfelt family saga weaves together science and magic believably and sensitively." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Loriel Ryon
ISBN 1534449671
Publication Date Apr 7, 2020
Publisher Margaret K. McElderry Books
Language English