Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Juana and Lucas

Juana loves many things: drawing, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? Fortunately, Juana's determined attitude stands her in good stead when it turns out she has a big incentive to develop her English skills: a trip to America to meet her favorite, superhero Astroman!

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated early chapter book series with plenty of Spanish words sprinkled into the text. Kids will get a sense of what life is like in Colombia, while also feeling like Juana's story could happen in their own hometown, too. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones (the hearts) of readers everywhere.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $6.91
  • Lowest
    $1.94
Prices as of 07/05/22 05:28
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$10.99
  • Lowest
    C$8.32
Prices as of 07/04/22 10:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £6.37
  • Lowest
    £4.79
Prices as of 07/04/22 09:37
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$21.36
  • Lowest
    A$13.71
Prices as of 07/04/22 10:43
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Medina (1 Big Salad) incorporates italicized Spanish words throughout Juana’s first-person narration, always providing enough context clues so that English-speaking readers can do some language-learning of their own.... Medina’s loose, full-color cartoons and interspersed profiles of the people in Juana’s life add to the overall playfulness of the story. It’s an inviting look at life in Colombia, and readers will probably be struck by just how much they have in common with Juana." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 6 - 9
Author Juana Medina
Illustrator Juana Medina
ISBN 1536206393
Publication Date Sep 27, 2016
Publisher Candlewick
Award Winners Pura Belpré Award
Series Name Juana and Lucas
Language English