Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Just Like Me

"I am a canvas / Being painted on / By the words of my family / Friends / And community."

From Vanessa Brantley-Newton, the author of Grandma's Purse, comes a collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don't; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father.

With bright portraits in Vanessa's signature style of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages. An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $12.79
  • Lowest
    $12.79
Prices as of 08/05/20 06:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Ranging from a few lines to the length of a page, the poems are matched with bright, textured, mixed-media illustrations featuring a variety of girls — curly and straight haired, ethnically diverse, blemish dotted, glasses wearing, spunky, shy, lonely, and empowered — in highly relatable moments.... Thoughtful, inclusive, and celebratory, this collection encourages readers to look both inward and outward, and to use kindness as a link to 'go/ higher and higher/ pulling each one up.'" — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 5 - 9
Author Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Illustrator Vanessa Brantley-Newton
ISBN 0525582096
Publication Date Jan 14, 2020
Publisher Knopf Books for Young Readers
Language English