Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Lizzie Flying Solo

Amazon.com Rating:

Lizzie St. Claire wants to be invisible. Forced to move out of her home, she and her mom now live in a transitional housing shelter, Good Hope, until they can get back on their feet. Lizzie just wants to keep her head down at Good Hope and her new school, so she doesn't have to admit the real reason she and her mom lost everything.

But when Lizzie finds herself at the nearby Birchwood Stables, some new friends — along with the arrival of a frightened pony named Fire — help Lizzie to open up and accept help from those around her, even if it means she'll have more to lose if things change again. This is lyrical, poignant middle grade novel about embracing change, accepting help from others, and finding a place to call home, perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $12.79
  • Lowest
    $6.54
Prices as of 01/20/20 17:07
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Lizzie begins working at the barn in exchange for lessons and gradually comes out of her self-imposed isolation, emerging as strong, determined, and empathetic, but the horses are not the solution: Lizzie is. She relates the story of her rough transition from innocence to experience in an emotional yet measured first-person. Steveson’s nuanced portrayals of the many ways families can be in crisis and her unflinching honesty toward her characters elevate this book into something unexpectedly full of grace." — Kirus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Nanci Turner Steveson
ISBN 0062673181
Publication Date Apr 16, 2019
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English