Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Measuring Up

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má’s, seventieth birthday together. Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má’s plane ticket! There’s just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food. And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she’s determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

Fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl will love this graphic novel about food, identity, and finding your place in a new home! Kids will root for Cici as she tries to find the balance between being American enough without forgetting the people and traditions she loved about her home. It's a charming story that readers will savor.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $19.43
  • Lowest
    $11.97
Prices as of 03/03/21 14:32
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"LaMotte’s accessible writing resonates in sketching a diaspora experience ('When people see us, no matter how American we become, they always see someone who’s not like them. We always have to prove ourselves first'), and Xu’s simple, inviting illustrations will charm young readers. Familiar ingredients — the lunch box moment, disagreements over grades and goals, and cultural alienation scenes — make an appearance, but in LaMotte and Xu’s capable hands, the result is heartwarming fare that will appeal to all." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 8 - 12
Author Lily LaMotte
Illustrator Ann Xu
ISBN 0062973878
Publication Date Oct 27, 2020
Publisher HarperAlley
Language English