Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe

Amazon.com Rating:

How far would you go to find something that might not even exist? All her life, Cricket's mama has told her stories about a secret room painted by a mysterious artist. Now Mama's run off, and Cricket thinks the room might be the answer to getting her to come back. If it exists. And if she can find it. Cricket's only clue is a coin from a grown-over ghost town in the woods. So with her daddy's old guidebook and a coat full of snacks stolen from the Cash 'n' Carry, Cricket runs away to find the room.

Surviving in the woods isn't easy. While Cricket camps out in an old tree house and looks for clues, she meets the last resident of the ghost town, encounters a poetry-loving dog (who just might hold a key to part of the puzzle), and discovers that sometimes you have to get a little lost... to really find your way. A Mississippi ghost town and an art mystery combine in this gorgeously written debut just right for fans of Three Times Lucky and A Snicker of Magic.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $16.99
  • Lowest
    $10.49
Prices as of 08/21/18 19:52
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Hackl does a great job of describing Cricket’s adventure through her hunter-gatherer skills — from finding bamboo shoots in the dirt to what to do with a 'field of clover, dandelion greens, wild onion, and two hickory nut trees.' Cricket, with her pet cricket (named Charlene) and her unwavering belief in her mama, learns that some people can’t be changed and that life can be both beautiful and cruel.... Lyrical and endearing, this debut is a genuine adventure tale, poignant and as fresh as a spring garden." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Jo Watson Hackl
ISBN 0399557385
Publication Date Jul 10, 2018
Publisher Random House Books for Young Readers
Language English