Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Muffled

Ten-year-old Amelia does not like noise. From subway brakes to squeaky sneakers, she is sensitive to sound, just like her dad. Amelia has always worn noise-canceling headphones, but now that she’s going into fifth grade, her parents want her to stop wearing them. To make matters worse, she must learn to play an instrument! Or, as Amelia sees it, make noise on purpose. To help Amelia cope, her father gives her a pair of earmuffs to wear instead.

Even with her new earmuffs, Amelia struggles at school… until she gets partnered with Madge in music class. Madge is loud and bold and goofy — everything Amelia is not. And so Amelia is surprised when Madge wants to be friends. Still, it’s not long though before Amelia’s quiet nature clashes with Madge’s loud personality. And when Madge disappears after an argument, Amelia fears Madge might be in trouble. If she’s going to help her friend, she will have to find a way to let in the noisy world she’s muffled for so long. This heartwarming middle grade novel about a young girl who learns how to cope with her noise sensitivity and step outside of her comfort zone is perfect for fans of If This Were a Story and El Deafo.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $14.47
  • Lowest
    $13.04
Prices as of 05/06/21 00:29
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Jennifer Gennari
ISBN 1534463658
Publication Date Oct 27, 2020
Publisher Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Language English