Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

One Half from the East

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck — dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh. As a bacha posh, Obayda can live like a boy, working and traveling freely... at least until she goes through puberty. After that, Obayda will have to be a girl again.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though — unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Fans of Nadia Hashimi’s The Pearl That Broke Its Shell — which shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East — will love this title, her first book for young readers. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, this powerful book explores this unique tradition and the marks it leaves on the girls who taste freedom for a few precious years.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $6.99
  • Lowest
    $3.50
Prices as of 12/07/21 20:34
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$8.42
  • Lowest
    C$8.42
Prices as of 12/06/21 16:03
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £8.69
  • Lowest
    £5.99
Prices as of 12/06/21 16:03
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$22.00
  • Lowest
    A$21.46
Prices as of 12/06/21 16:03
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Nadia Hashimi
ISBN 0062421913
Publication Date Feb 6, 2018
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English