Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer

Jamila Waheed is staring down a lonely summer in a new neighborhood — until she meets Shirley Bones. Sure, Shirley's a little strange, but both girls need a new plan for the summer, and they might as well become friends. Then this kid Oliver shows up begging for Shirley's help. His pet gecko has disappeared, and he's sure it was stolen! That's when Jamila discovers Shirley's secret: She's the neighborhood's best kid detective, and she's on the case. When Jamila discovers she's got some detective skills of her own, a crime-solving partnership is born.

The mystery of the missing gecko turns Shirley and Jamila's summer upside down. And when their partnership hits a rough patch, they have to work together to solve the greatest mystery of all: what it means to be a friend. This middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Roller Girl and Smile opens a new series about two unlikely friends who save each other's summers while solving their neighborhood's biggest mysteries.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $9.48
  • Lowest
    $8.79
Prices as of 10/21/20 05:29
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Their odd couple dynamic shines from the start, along with strong characterization and a vividly rendered neighborhood. Goerz’s simple, expressive style lends itself well to a heartwarming whodunit that is, at its core, a story of friendship with a wonderfully inclusive cast." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 8 - 12
Author Gillian Goerz
Illustrator Gillian Goerz
ISBN 0525552863
Publication Date Jul 14, 2020
Publisher Dial Books
Series Name Shirley and Jamila
Language English