Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Bone Garden

Amazon.com Rating:

"Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist." Irréelle fears she's not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life —and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irréelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.

When Irréelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irréelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

Debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story — illustrated by Matt Saunders — humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings, perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $10.99
  • Lowest
    $6.52
Prices as of 02/27/20 22:26
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Terrified of being wished away, Irréelle vows to complete an “impossible” task in hopes that Miss Vesper will make her “normal” and “fully real. Maybe then she would be worthy of love".... The author perceptively depicts the confusion of living with an emotionally abusive caregiver; Irréelle’s love for Miss Vesper despite her cruelty is painfully realistic.... A mildly creepy, ultimately comforting take on familiar themes of love, family, and identity." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Heather Kassner
Illustrator Matt Saunders
ISBN 1250296897
Publication Date Aug 6, 2019
Publisher Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Language English