Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Empire of Dreams

Red Sparkle Stone is a foundling orphan with an odd name, a veiled past, and a mark of magic in her hair. But finally ― after years and years of running, of fighting ― she is about to be adopted into the royal family by Empress Elisa herself. She’ll have a home, a family. Sixteen-year-old Red can hardly believe her luck. Then, in a stunning political masterstroke, the empress’s greatest rival blocks the adoption, and everything Red has worked for crumbles before her eyes.

But Red is not about to let herself or the empress become a target again. Determined to prove her worth and protect her chosen family, she joins the Royal Guard, the world’s most elite fighting force. Someone wanted her to fail as a princess, though, someone whose shadowy agenda puts everything ― and everyone ― she loves at risk. As danger closes in, it will be up to Red to save the empire. If she can survive recruitment year ― something no woman has ever done before.

New York Times–bestselling author Rae Carson returns to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns in this action-packed stand-alone fantasy-adventure perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $15.51
  • Lowest
    $14.12
Prices as of 07/11/20 06:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Picking up nearly eight years after the events of Carson’s Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, this standalone companion follows 17-year-old imperial ward Lady Red Sparkle Stone, a foundling rescued from enslavement in the original trilogy by Elisa, now reigning Empress of Joya.... Alternating chapters ground readers in the years leading up to Red’s liberation, contextualizing previously established relationships and Red’s traumatic past. Exhibiting clear signs of PTSD and carefully honed survival skills, Red is a realistically complex heroine, and her journey to belonging and healing feels genuinely depicted." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 14 and up
Author Rae Carson
ISBN 0062691902
Publication Date Apr 7, 2020
Publisher Greenwillow Books
Language English