Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Girl and the Ghost

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable. But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side — and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive... before they are both lost to the darkness.

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship, perfect for fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones and Tracey Baptiste's The Jumbies.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $11.99
  • Lowest
    $5.95
Prices as of 11/29/20 14:41
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"The author’s middle-grade debut immerses readers in Malaysian culture and food as well as weaving in both Islamic elements and pre-Islamic views of ghosts and death. Though aspects of the novel embrace the disturbing and grotesque (which will delight many readers), its conclusion is grippingly heart-wrenching and speaks to deeper themes of family, trauma, and friendship.... A fascinating, page-turning tale." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Hanna Alkaf
ISBN 0062940953
Publication Date Aug 4, 2020
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English