Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Looking Glass

GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That's what Sylvie Blake's older sister Julia renamed their favorite fairy tale book, way back when they were just girls themselves. Now Julia has disappeared — and no one knows for sure if she wants to be away, or if she's the one in trouble. Then a copy of their old storybook arrives with a mysterious list inside, and Sylvie begins to see signs of her sister, and their favorite fairy tales, everywhere she goes.

With the help of her best friend's enigmatic brother and his beat-up car, Sylvie sets out to follow the strange signs right to Julia and return to New York with her in tow. But trouble comes in lots of forms — and Sylvie soon learns that the damsel in distress is often the only one who can save herself. Janet McNally's imaginative story of sisterhood shows that the fiercest of loves are often the ones that exist outside of happily-ever-afters.

Current Price:

  • Featured
  • Lowest
Prices as of 05/08/21 15:32
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!


"It’s been one year since 16-year-old Sylvie’s sister Julia left New York; one year spent trying to fill her shoes at the National Ballet Theatre Academy while everyone pretends Julia didn’t overdose on painkillers after a career-ending injury. The only sibling still living at home — artist brother Everett lives in Nashville — Sylvie navigates lingering feelings of betrayal, grief, and guilt alone until she discovers a cryptic list of names in her childhood book of fairy tales.... McNally’s vivid imagery and exquisite, poetic language — with an ever so slightly sinister undercurrent — weave shimmering, slow-building tension throughout." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 14 and up
Author Janet McNally
ISBN 0062436279
Publication Date Aug 14, 2018
Publisher HarperTeen
Language English