Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Silence of Bones

I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak; Ears, but I mustn't hear; Eyes, but I mustn't see. 1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman's secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly. June Hur's elegant and haunting debut is a bloody YA historical mystery tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $14.89
  • Lowest
    $10.94
Prices as of 07/11/20 09:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Hur builds suspense artfully, offering a noir-tinged atmosphere of late nights, mist-shrouded streets, and clandestine meetings. The Korean concept of han, as well as customs, language, and politics, are woven flawlessly into the narrative, which is firmly grounded in the novel’s historical basis: looming Catholic persecution, the Shinyu Bakhae of 1801.... Seol’s determined pursuit of literacy and freedom, as well as the bittersweet ending, make for a memorable and worthwhile read." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 15 and up
Author June Hur
ISBN 1250229553
Publication Date Apr 21, 2020
Publisher Feiwel & Friends
Language English