Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Strong Ones: How a Band of Civilian Women Made Their Mark on the Army

They said women couldn't keep up. They said women weren't strong enough to do the military's toughest jobs. In 1995, a ragtag band of civilians came to prove them wrong. The Strong Ones is the inspiring true story of forty-five civilian women, including the author, who volunteered for a controversial seven-month Army strength study in 1995 — and proved just how strong women can get. With females still banned from combat and their supposed lack of physical strength used as a reason to keep them out, women from around Massachusetts — including moms, teachers, a landscaper, a prison guard, a journalist and one solider — came to change the rules.

Author Sara Hammel, a test subject and reporter with exclusive access to the study, traces the women and their results through the years, revealing how their efforts came full circle decades later when all military jobs were opened up to women. A hybrid of memoir and military history that will appeal to fans of Wild and Ashley's War, The Strong Ones lays bare the raw emotions, vulnerabilities and body image struggles of those who dug deep to show what it means to be a strong woman — in every sense.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $14.95
  • Lowest
    $14.95
Prices as of 07/22/24 23:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Lowest
    C$24.22
Prices as of 07/22/24 16:39
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £15.68
  • Lowest
    £15.39
Prices as of 07/22/24 09:37
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$53.99
  • Lowest
    A$53.99
Prices as of 07/23/24 01:37
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Product Details

Recommended Age Adults
Author Sara Hammel
ISBN 0578794322
Publication Date Feb 2, 2021
Publisher Sara Hammel
Language English