Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Trouble with Good Ideas

Twelve-year old Leah Nevins is NOT a fan of change. So when her parents start whispering about sending her beloved great-grandpa Zaide to an assisted living facility (hospital jail!), she is very resistant. Zaide’s house, where her family gathers on Saturday afternoons, is the only place where Leah feels like she truly belongs. Sending Zaide away would change everything.

Luckily, Leah remembers a story Zaide once told her about building a golem ― a creature from Jewish mythology made out of clay ― to protect their family from the Nazis in Poland. So, of course, Leah decides to make a golem of her own to look after Zaide. The directions he gave her were pretty easy to follow, but there is one thing he never told her: what to do when a golem turns against its creator. From author Amanda Panitch comes a hilarious middle-grade novel with a magical twist about a girl, a golem, and her ailing grandfather, perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $12.59
  • Lowest
    $12.59
Prices as of 04/21/21 18:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"[Leah] manages to create a golem in her own image — albeit with a tiny button nose — to protect Zaide. Before long, the golem develops an attitude, showing up at Leah’s school to win over the popular crowd and making demands. Meanwhile, Leah’s own efforts to fit in force her to confront painful anti-Semitic microaggressions from her classmates. This fast-paced story provides a window into the cultural and religious traditions of one modern Jewish family... with a folkloric twist." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Amanda Panitch
ISBN 1250245109
Publication Date Jan 5, 2021
Publisher Roaring Brook Press
Language English