Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Way Back

For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out to try and steal away the living.

But the demons have a land of their own: a Far Country peopled with the souls of the transient dead, governed by demonic dukes, barons, and earls. When the Angel of Death comes strolling through the little shtetl of Tupik one night, two young people will be sent spinning off on a journey through the Far Country. There they will make pacts with ancient demons, declare war on Death himself, and maybe — just maybe — find a way to make it back alive.

Told in dual narration by Bluma, a girl who accidentally acquired Death's spoon, and Yehuda, a boy who wants to recover a soul, this National Book Award finalist is a sweeping historical fantasy perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $16.99
  • Lowest
    $9.79
Prices as of 03/04/21 02:32
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Savit suffuses folklore and Jewish mysticism into a narrative tangle of chases and bargains, otherworldly horrors — a wheelchair woven of still-growing fingernails is particularly memorable — and delicate, compassionate moments, all studded with Yiddishisms. The duo’s journey across the demonic demesnes and the mortal town of Zubinsk, where an open wedding invitation convenes both devout Hasidim and opportunistic entities, all looking to benefit from a holy presence, presents a bewitching allegorical adventure comprised of small, beautifully composed moments." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 13 and up
Author Gavriel Savit
ISBN 1984894625
Publication Date Nov 17, 2020
Publisher Knopf Books for Young Readers
Language English