Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Vera Vance: Comics Star

Third-grader Vera loves all things comic books, so she can't wait for the comics after-school class to start — even though her mother wonders whether it's educational enough. But Vera is determined to participate, and starts developing her own comic about Big Spoon and Little Spoon with the encouragement of her enthusiastic friend Nixie and instruction from teachers who are accomplished cartoonists themselves.

As the weeks go by, the after-school teachers announce that for the final class, students will go on a field trip to a local comic-con — and they can even enter a page from their comics in a contest that will be judged there! Vera isn't surprised when her mother says she can't go. But maybe Big Spoon and Little Spoon can convince her mother to accept her passion.

The second book in the After-School Superstars chapter book series is perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $15.99
  • Lowest
    $11.61
Prices as of 04/03/20 14:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Vera has a hard time sticking up for herself, so she suffers through experiences like making a final project with Nixie when she really wants to work on her own project. And when her mom, who values grades and piano but not comics, says no to the camp’s final field trip to a comic-con, Vera is crushed, seeing no way to change her mother’s mind. But at the last minute, all her camp lessons about the hero’s journey and the power of comics come together with Vera’s talent to make a pretty brilliant bid for reaching her goal.... Readers who stick around to see Vera become her own hero are in for a satisfying read." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 7 - 9
Author Claudia Mills
Illustrator Grace Zong
ISBN 082344094X
Publication Date Mar 17, 2020
Publisher Margaret Ferguson Books
Series Name After-School Superstars
Language English