Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

A Most Clever Girl: How Jane Austen Discovered Her Voice

Witty and mischievous Jane Austen grew up in a house overflowing with words. As a young girl, she delighted in making her family laugh with tales that poked fun at the popular novels of her time, stories that featured fragile ladies and ridiculous plots. Before long, Jane was writing her own stories — uproariously funny ones, using all the details of her life in a country village as inspiration.

In times of joy, Jane's words burst from her pen. But after facing sorrow and loss, she wondered if she'd ever write again. Jane realized her writing would not be truly her own until she found her unique voice. She didn't know it then, but that voice would go on to capture readers' hearts and minds for generations to come. For fans of I Dissent and She Persisted — and Jane Austen fans of all ages — a picture book biography about the beloved and enduring writer and how she found her unique voice.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $16.80
  • Lowest
    $12.80
Prices as of 05/11/21 05:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Myriad threads — young Jane’s early attempts at satire; her participation in family theatrics; the education her family supported and provided; the financial and personal losses she suffered; her rebellion against literary trends; her growth as an artist; her wit, resilience, and observant nature — all come together to present an engaging portrait accompanied by detailed and engaging illustrations that entwine with the story and give a strong sense of the era.... An informative, engaging depiction of the life and growth of an exceptional literary talent." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 5 - 9
Author Jasmine A. Stirling
Illustrator Vesper Stamper
ISBN 1547601108
Publication Date Mar 16, 2021
Publisher Bloomsbury Children's Books
Language English