Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Duel

Sixth grader Lucy loves fantasy novels and is brand-new to middle school. GiGi is the undisputed queen bee of eighth grade (as well as everything else she does). They’ve only got one thing in common: fencing. Oh, and they’re sisters. They never got along super well, but ever since their dad died, it seems like they’re always at each other’s throats.

When GiGi humiliates Lucy in the cafeteria on the first day of school, Lucy snaps and challenges GiGi to a duel with high sisterly stakes. If GiGi wins, Lucy promises to stay out of GiGi’s way; if Lucy wins, GiGi will stop teasing Lucy for good. But after their scene in the cafeteria, both girls are on thin ice with the principal and their mom. Lucy stopped practicing fencing after their fencer dad died and will have to get back to fighting form in secret or she’ll be in big trouble. And GiGi must behave perfectly or risk getting kicked off the fencing team.

As the clock ticks down to the girls’ fencing bout, the anticipation grows. Their school is divided into GiGi and Lucy factions, complete with t-shirts declaring kids’ allegiances. Both sisters are determined to triumph. But will winning the duel mean fracturing their family even further? This funny and emotional debut graphic novel is sure to appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $11.98
  • Lowest
    $11.45
Prices as of 04/24/24 09:28
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$17.99
  • Lowest
    C$17.99
Prices as of 04/23/24 21:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £16.18
  • Lowest
    £11.54
Prices as of 04/23/24 17:38
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$22.76
  • Lowest
    A$22.76
Prices as of 04/23/24 22:41
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"The story is told from both sisters’ perspectives, allowing readers to sympathize and understand each of their sides, ensuring that neither one is seen as merely cruel.... Intense and complex, exploring siblings’ grief, love, and forgiveness." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Jessixa Bagley
Illustrator Aaron Bagley
ISBN 1534496548
Publication Date Nov 7, 2023
Publisher Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Language English