Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow

Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria. She still had her parents and her big brother; she still had her home. She had a normal teenager’s life. Now Salama volunteers at a hospital in Homs, helping the wounded who flood through the doors daily. Secretly, though, she is desperate to find a way out of her beloved country before her sister-in-law, Layla, gives birth. So desperate, that she has manifested a physical embodiment of her fear in the form of her imagined companion, Khawf — Arabic for fear — who haunts her every move in an effort to keep her safe.

But even with Khawf pressing her to leave, Salama is torn between her loyalty to her country and her conviction to survive. Salama must contend with bullets and bombs, military assaults, and her shifting sense of morality before she might finally breathe free. And when she crosses paths with the boy she was supposed to meet one fateful day, she starts to doubt her resolve in leaving home at all. Soon, Salama must learn to see the events around her for what they truly are — not a war, but a revolution — and decide how she, too, will cry for Syria’s freedom. This speculative novel burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility is a love letter to Syria and its people, perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $11.49
  • Lowest
    $11.49
Prices as of 03/02/24 09:33
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$24.96
  • Lowest
    C$24.96
Prices as of 03/01/24 15:39
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Availability:

Out of Stock

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$47.88
  • Lowest
    A$47.88
Prices as of 03/01/24 19:42
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Harrowing moments are juxtaposed against painfully beautiful memories of peaceful times, and readers will linger over the many exquisite sentences in this memorable novel that honors the stories of countless Syrians. Searing in its intensity." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 14 and up
Author Zoulfa Katouh
ISBN 0316351377
Publication Date Sep 13, 2022
Publisher Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Language English