Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Shine On, Luz Véliz!

Have you ever been the best at something... only to lose it all? Luz Véliz is a soccer star — or rather, she was a soccer star. With her serious knee injury, it's unlikely she'll be back on the field anytime soon. But without soccer, who is she? Even her dad treats her differently now — like he doesn't know her or, worse, like he doesn't even like her.

When Luz discovers she has a knack for coding, it feels like a lifeline to a better self. If she can just ace the May Showcase, she'll not only skip a level in her coding courses and impress Ms. Freeman and intriguing, brilliant Trevor — she'll have her parents cheering her on from the sidelines, just the way she likes it. But something — someone — is about to enter the Vélizes' life. And when Solana arrives, nothing will be the same, ever again.

Unforgettable characters, family drama, and dauntless determination illuminate Luz's journey as she summons her inner strength and learns to accept others and embrace the enduring connection of family. A beautiful coming-of-age story for fans of Front Desk and Merci Suárez Changes Gears, this book celebrates identity, language, heritage, family, and the determination to follow one's own inner light.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $8.99
  • Lowest
    $8.90
Prices as of 04/16/24 02:29
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$24.71
  • Lowest
    C$16.30
Prices as of 04/15/24 12:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £11.89
  • Lowest
    £9.55
Prices as of 04/16/24 00:38
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$32.13
  • Lowest
    A$32.13
Prices as of 04/15/24 15:42
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Just as Luz begins to find her footing off the soccer field, she learns her father has a daughter in Guatemala. After losing her mother, 13-year-old Solana not only moves in, she shares Luz’s room. Solana is outgoing and immediately popular at school, making Luz feel further displaced and jealous... The plot is absorbing and skillfully paced, laced with insight and warmth as Luz learns to embrace both her new sister and her new sense of self. Inspiring, smart, and beautifully written." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Rebecca Balcárcel
ISBN 1797209671
Publication Date May 3, 2022
Publisher Chronicle Books
Language English