Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Great Upending

Twelve-year-old Sara and her brother Hawk are told that they are not to bother the man — The Mister — who just moved into the silo apartment on their farm. It doesn’t matter that they know nothing about him and they think they ought to know something. It doesn’t matter that he’s always riding that unicycle around. Mama told them no way, no how are they to bother The Mister unless they want to be in a mess of trouble.

Trouble is, trouble is the last thing Sara and her brother need. Sara’s got a condition, you see. Marfan syndrome. And that Marfan syndrome is causing her heart to have problems, the kind of problems that require surgery. But the family already has problems: The drought has dried up their crops and their funds, which means they can’t afford any more problems, let alone a surgery to fix those problems. Sara can feel the weight of her family’s worry, and the weight of her time running out, but what can a pair of kids do? Well, it all starts with... bothering The Mister. Two kids hatch a scheme to swipe the ending of the final book in a bestselling series in this gorgeously written novel in the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $11.99
  • Lowest
    $8.99
Prices as of 05/20/24 06:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$15.99
  • Lowest
    C$15.95
Prices as of 05/19/24 08:38
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Lowest
    £9.95
Prices as of 05/20/24 01:38
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$38.68
  • Lowest
    A$33.26
Prices as of 05/19/24 15:43
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Kephart (Wild Blues) keenly conveys the stark economic reality of the drought-ridden farm, intensified by a devastating fire that burns their shed and hay supply, and the intense financial pressure Sara’s family faces just to survive, let alone afford additional medical expenses.... The literary tone and occasional poemlike chapters convey palpable emotion alongside the strong portrayal of the siblings’ relationship, the intertwined family, and the effects of Sara’s disease." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Beth Kephart
ISBN 1481491571
Publication Date Mar 30, 2021
Publisher Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Language English