Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

A Game of Fox & Squirrels

After an incident shatters their family, eleven-year old Samantha and her older sister Caitlin are sent to live in rural Oregon with an aunt they've never met. Sam wants nothing more than to go back to the way things were… before she spoke up about their father's mental and physical abuse. When Aunt Vicky gives Sam a mysterious card game called "A Game of Fox & Squirrels," Sam falls in love with the animal characters, especially the charming trickster fox, Ashander.

Then one day Ashander shows up in Sam’s room and offers her an adventure and a promise: find the Golden Acorn, and Sam can have anything she desires. But the fox is hiding rules that Sam isn't prepared for, and her new home feels more tempting than she'd ever expected. As Sam is swept up in the dangerous quest, the line between magic and reality grows thin. If she makes the wrong move, she'll lose far more than just a game.

Perfect for fans of Barbara O'Connor, Lauren Wolk, and Ali Benjamin, A Game of Fox & Squirrels is a stunning, heartbreaking novel about a girl who finds the courage to break the cycle of abuse... and ultimately discovers the true meaning of home.

Current Price:

  • Lowest
    $9.73
Prices as of 07/11/20 09:30
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Despite the impossible rules and systems that she and Caitlin have grown up navigating, Sam can’t understand why they have to 'visit' Oregon; her favorite books have taught her that 'heroes always [go] home'.... Sam must decide whether fulfilling the fox’s escalating ultimatums is worth disrupting the stable, love-filled life Caitlin and Sam are settling into. The accessible narrative presents generational trauma and its echoes unflinchingly, encouraging readers in similar situations to seek community and help from trusted adults." — Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Jenn Reese
ISBN 1250243017
Publication Date Apr 14, 2020
Publisher Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Language English