Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Marty McGuire

Amazon.com Rating:

Marty McGuire would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty's absolutely, positively sure that there's been a huge mistake. But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her OWN plan to IMPROVE the play: Why use stuffed-animal frog onstage when a live one would be so much better? In the end, Marty's one-of-a-kind performance makes for an unforgettable show.

Maybe Marty CAN live happily ever after, after all!

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $5.99
  • Lowest
    $2.68
Prices as of 05/24/19 15:51
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"[Marty] is a typical eight-year-old, who has to deal with friendships changing, school, and rash ideas. Floca's plentiful pen-and-ink sketches...are full of humor and help move the reader through the story. The book has an open design, with a fair amount of white space, making it very accessible for readers just venturing into chapter books." -- Children's Literature

"Messner gets all the details of third grade right: the social chasm between the girls who want to be like the older kids and the ones who are still little girls, the Mad Minutes for memorizing arithmetic facts, the silly classroom-control devices teachers use and the energy students of this age put into projects like class plays.... Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona." -- Kirkus

Product Details

Recommended Age 6 - 9
Author Kate Messner
Illustrator Brian Floca
ISBN 0545142466
Publication Date May 1, 2011
Publisher Scholastic Paperbacks
Series Name Marty McGuire
Language English