Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Once Upon a Family

11-year-old Winnie feels stuck. She's alone in a new town with a mom who doesn't seem to notice how miserable Winnie's new stepbrother and stepfather make her. One night, when Winnie makes a hasty wish, she nearly gets sideswiped by an odd bird, leading her to a strange oak tree with even stranger glowing leaves. Investigating the tree, Winnie discovers a nest of golden eggs with wishes inscribed on the shells.

After Winnie accidentally breaks two of the eggs, the wishes come true. Winnie sneaks back to the tree to try to grant her own wishes. But when she realizes the wishes are coming true in unexpected and terrible ways, Winnie must find a way to fix everything.... This middle-grade novel exploring what it means to become a blended family is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's The List of Things That Will Not Change.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $13.89
  • Lowest
    $12.50
Prices as of 04/24/24 16:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$25.99
  • Lowest
    C$24.14
Prices as of 04/24/24 01:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £16.08
  • Lowest
    £16.08
Prices as of 04/23/24 22:36
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$32.99
  • Lowest
    A$32.99
Prices as of 04/24/24 04:41
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Writing in her notebook, Winnie casts herself as a princess and her mother as a queen; she does not want an evil stepfather. But Winnie’s anxiety — which she’s named Eustace Clarence Scrubb — causes her to see monsters where there are none, and her fear often turns to anger and causes her to lash out at Jeff’s son and even new friends like her neighbor and schoolmate Abigail.... A modern blended family story with a sprinkling of magic." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 12
Author Amanda Rawson Hill
ISBN 1635923174
Publication Date Aug 1, 2023
Publisher Astra Young Readers
Language English