Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Sparrow Being Sparrow

Sparrow Robinson loves to dance and leap around. She loves cats. She has a million questions about the world, and she’s not afraid to ask them. But she’s just moved to a new town and a new school, and her busy parents have no time for her to get "carried away." Suddenly, she feels totally out of place.

Sparrow’s favorite thing in all this newness is her neighbor, Mrs. LaRose, who has seven cats and always has cookies and lemonade to share. But after Mrs. LaRose breaks her hip, she decides to move into assisted living — where the cats aren’t allowed! Sparrow has to help.

Determined to find new homes for the cats, Sparrow forgets about her own troubles — but her quest just might be the key to Sparrow finding a home for herself in this town, too. This illustrated novel starring an endearingly energetic fourth grader is perfect for fans of Patricia MacLachlan and Sharon Creech.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    $16.48
  • Lowest
    $12.21
Prices as of 06/20/24 07:32
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (CAD):

  • Featured
    C$23.99
  • Lowest
    C$22.17
Prices as of 06/20/24 09:40
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price :

  • Featured
    £13.41
  • Lowest
    £13.34
Prices as of 06/19/24 22:37
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Current Price (AUD):

  • Featured
    A$40.43
  • Lowest
    A$20.52
Prices as of 06/19/24 15:41
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Sparrow's adjustment is full of ups and downs: She tells her classmates that Mrs. LaRose's cats are hers, and her peers — especially her new friend Paloma — feel betrayed when she confesses the truth. But seeking homes for the cats helps smooth things over and brings her closer to the community, especially the church that she and her family join. Kids who enjoy realistic school, family, and pet stories will find that this book, with its cozy, retro atmosphere and grayscale illustrations, purrs along." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 7 - 10
Author Gail Donovan
Illustrator Elysia Case
ISBN 1665916699
Publication Date Jul 25, 2023
Publisher Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Language English