Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

Summer of a Thousand Pies

Amazon.com Rating:

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn't even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn't sure what to expect. Cady isn't used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad. Now she's staying in her mother's old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell's own pie shop — and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell's shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she's ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can't fix? Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree, and The Great British Baking Show.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $13.55
  • Lowest
    $8.18
Prices as of 09/19/19 20:08
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Over the course of a summer, Cady works diligently in her aunt’s pie shop baking 1,000 pies — a personal goal. Contemporary topics such as immigration, bullying, and celiac disease mix easily into the plot. Dilloway whips up a gentle mix of sweet and savory themes with a lovable and diverse cast.... None of the issues feel forced; rather, there is an authentic compassion underlying them. Fans of Anne of Green Gables will find a satisfying story and another heroine to cheer on as Cady faces her past traumas from neglect and bullying in her search for permanence." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

Recommended Age 10 - 13
Author Margaret Dilloway
ISBN 0062803468
Publication Date Apr 16, 2019
Publisher Balzer + Bray
Language English