Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Color of Earth

Amazon.com Rating:

First love is never easy. Ehwa grows up helping her widowed mother run the local tavern, watching as their customers, both neighbors and strangers, look down on her mother for her single lifestyle.

Their social status isolates Ehwa and her mother from the rest of the people in their quiet country village. But as she gets older and sees her mother fall in love again, Ehwa slowly begins to open up to the possibility of love in her life.

In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes this gorgeous graphic novel about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea.

For more girl-empowering graphic novels, visit A Mighty Girl's Graphic Novel Collection.

Availability:

Out of Stock

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"The story follows daughter Ehwa from age seven up as she discovers the physical differences between boys and girls, grows into young womanhood and undergoes her initial confusing experiences with attraction and romance. Ehwa's interest is piqued by a young Buddhist monk, a lad whose interest is mutual but doomed to futility thanks to his faith's strict code of celibacy. Meanwhile, Ehwa's mother, who was widowed at an early age, finds her loneliness soothed by the attentions of an artistic traveling salesman known only as Picture Man. Their relationship later helps Ehwa understand much about the joys of making a romantic connection. This book has no conflict other than that common to youthful competition over boys, but it is a work of great humanity that sucks the reader in." -- Publisher's Weekly

Product Details

Recommended Age 14 and up
Author Dong Hwa Kim
ISBN 1596434589
Publication Date Mar 31, 2009
Publisher First Second
Language English