Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Porcupine Year

Omakayas was a dreamer who did not yet know her limits.

When Omakayas is twelve winters old, she and her family set off on a harrowing journey in search of a new home. Pushed to the brink of survival, Omakayas continues to learn from the land and the spirits around her, and she discovers that no matter where she is, or how she is living, she has the one thing she needs to carry her through.

The Porcupine Year is the final novel of a trilogy about the life of Omakayas -- her story begins in The Birchbark House and continues with The Game of Silence.

Current Price:

  • Featured
  • Lowest
Prices as of 10/24/20 16:31
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!


"The events in this installment will both delight and appall readers. While the novel can stand alone, it will call new readers to catch up on the first two installments. Erdrich's charming pencil drawings interspersed throughout and her glossary of Ojibwe terms round out a beautiful offering." -- School Library Journal

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 14
Author Louise Erdrich
Illustrator Louise Erdrich
ISBN 0064410307
Publication Date Sep 14, 2010
Publisher HarperCollins
Language English