Your browser is not supported. For the best experience, you should upgrade to a modern browser with improved speed and security.

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Amazon.com Rating:

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test — middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

Current Price:

  • Featured
    $11.10
  • Lowest
    $7.11
Prices as of 05/25/18 08:48
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amightygirl.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Where to Purchase:

What's this?

Support A Mighty Girl & Help Grow Mighty Girls!

It's easy to support A Mighty Girl's girl empowerment mission. Every time you purchase resources using the vendor buttons on our website, A Mighty Girl receives a small commission – all at no added cost to you. Thank you for helping us to provide these resources for everyone raising Mighty Girls!

Description

"Twelve-year-old Lucy, a.k.a. Lightning Girl, has been homeschooled by her grandmother since she was eight; she's been a math genius ever since she was hit by lightning and survived. She also lives with OCD and has rituals that revolve around the number three. If she does not perform them, the numbers of Pi string out in her brain.... This outstanding story sensitively portrays a neuro-diverse main character and is not to be missed." — Brenda Kahn, School Library Journal

Product Details

Recommended Age 9 - 13
Author Stacy McAnulty
ISBN 1524767573
Publication Date May 1, 2018
Publisher Random House Books for Young Readers
Language English